Home Forums Newbies Corner Unsure and confused!

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author
    Craig Chapman
    Participant

Hello everyone, new to this sort of thing but at a loss with a dilemma, hoping to find someone with all the answers! (If they actually exist…..)

Bit of background, I work in the marine industry where a zero tolerance to drugs and alcohol is one of the major aspects after safety. I have been militant in my career so far in avoiding drugs, had a few close calls with alcohol on my travels, a few hangovers that I should have kept in my cabin rather than the engine room! I’m no angel but I worry so much about getting everyone I’m responsible for home with the same amount of fingers and toes they came to work with. I have made 2 calls to date to families telling them the terrible news that their loved one has died and never wish to do this again. I never thought I would question this attitude.

Recently though however my best friend on board staring acting a little weird. Well, weird for him. He was a lot more animated, 100% more confident and was like the flash around the ship. He’s a great guy but not the fastest or most motivated worker! I took him under my wing when he started and strived to get the best out of him as he has two young kids who remind me a lot of my boys. Since he has a young family I put this new found work ethic down to him getting his finger out and working hard to provide for them. I’m godfather to one of his boys and I love his kids about as much as my own, his mrs is awesome and they are just the best. They both helped me out a lot when a relationship of mine broke down. He visited every day (with a 4 hour round trip each time) and I actually think he saved me.